good life, good death, good grief

The Truacanta Project: shortlisted communities

We are delighted to announce the communities that have been shortlisted for The Truacanta Project.

The Truacanta Project Manager will work closely with each of these eleven communities to develop their vision, and put together a more detailed application to be a part of the project.

The deadline for those applications is 6 December 2019. From those, up to four communities will be selected to receive dedicated community development and advice over a two year period, as they build on their ideas to improve their own community’s experiences of death, dying, loss and care.

The shortlisted communities are as follows, you can also look at them on a map HERE. We will be bringing you more on each community's ideas as we go along!

  1. Highland. Main contact Anne McDonald at Highland Senior Citizens Network: anne-hscn@outlook.com
  2. Angus. Main contacts Elaine Colville at Whitehills Health and Community Care Centre and Dr. Hamish Greig at Brechin Health Care Group: elaine.colville@nhs.net , brechinhealthcaregroup@gmail.com
  3. Dumfries & Galloway. Main contact Liz Forsyth at Mountainhall Treatment Centre: elizabethforsyth@nhs.net
  4. Fife. Main contact Theresa Keicher: keicher3@msn.com
  5. Perth & Kinross. Main contact Emma Oram at Perth & Kinross Council: eoram@pkc.gov.uk
  6. Glasgow/Govanhill. Main contacts Stephanie Hutchinson at Caledonia Cremation and Ruth Forsythe at Finn’s Place: ruth@finnsplace.org, stephanie.hutchinson@caledoniacremation.org.uk
  7. Dundee. Main contacts Nicola Mitchell at Dundee Voluntary Action, Linda Sterry at Funeral Link and Linda McSwiggan at School of Nursing, University of Dundee: nicolamitchell@dva.scot, linda@dfss.org.uk, l.c.mcswiggan@dundee.ac.uk
  8. North Berwick. Main contact Carol Stobie at North Berwick Health & Wellbeing Association: nbc-communityconnections@outlook.com
  9. Ayrshire. Main contacts Phil White at South Ayrshire Health & Social Care Partnership and Josaleen Connolly at Eglinton House: phil.white@aapct.scot.nhs.uk, josaleen.connolly@aapct.scot.nhs.uk
  10. Glasgow. Main contact Elaine Rae at The Alliance: elainerae43@googlemail.com
  11. Borders. Main contact Gerry Finnan at the Margaret Kerr Unit, Melrose: geraldine.finnan@borders.scot.nhs.uk

If you live or work in any of these areas, and would like to get involved in developing ideas and activities to improve how your community deals with death, dying, loss and care, please get in touch with the named contact, or with the Truacanta Project Manager, Caroline, on caroline@palliativecarescotland.org.uk

Text size:AAA
Before I die I want to ...
Loading
*